Antrim Coast

01.09.2006 Antrim Coast
Back to the car and along the coast. Here and there a viewpoint. After Ballintoy we take a tight side road leading to Fair Head, Murlough Bay and Torr Head. The road winds along Farms and meadows. Sheep everywhere and finally even on the road. The beasts have escaped somewhere and now they block the road. Stupid sheep is my first idea, when they react with wild running to my horn. Has anybody ever seen galloping sheep? A view for screaming. Unfortunately we passed the crossroad to Murlou
gh Bay and the number with the sheep beings once again......

Schafe queren die Strasse
Mulough Bay

The road to Murlough Bay is as tight and no house is at the roadside. Only to the end there is obviously a cottage. The bay itself is considered the softest bay on the Antrim coast and so it seems. Pretty and smooth and the slight waves in the light of the setting sun. Even the road melts.. Before we also melt we rather drive on again to the waiting sheep......

 

The further road winds along endless Fuchsia hedges occasionally with breathtaking views n meadows and the sea and eventually there is even an ox on the road. Strange thing..

 

Anrtim Landschaft
Fuschsienhecke Antrim Coast

Finally we arrive in Cushendun and return through the Ballypatrick Forest back to Ballintoy where we have a room at the Fullerton Arms. Bally by the way means village....
The
Fullerton Arms is a B&B with own pub and full license and the only one in Ballintoy. Therefore the question where to have diner is answered quickly. So we sit in and eat originally Irish for the last time. This means 7 oz Steak with potatoes. And again its Bulmers and the good Guinness One for diner..

After that its Karaoke Party in the pub and a band of youth storms the shop. Most of them are red hot to sing their songs. The boys jump in full in puberty vocal change and the girlies crying high. This requires another Carling. Some of the girls and their teacher join us at our table. With the ongoing evening (one more Carling) we get talking and we learn that they are of two theater groups, one from Spain the other from Northern Ireland (one more Guinness).

wildes Rind auf der Strasse - Antrim
schöne Buchten - Antrim

The teacher of the Spanish is a French from the Biarritz area and she does sme talking about herself. Her name is Peregrine Cant (or so) and she studied theater and education (one Carling). The singing continues and the girls at the table talk about their village (300km north of Barcelona) and their theater play, something about discrimination ( now a HARP please. The songs have moved to classics. Green Grass of home, Danny Boy, Take me home country roads are the final songs, the last one sung be the landlord himself before the closing time - final call - a Carling.

Pint of Kilkenny

By the way what is the difference between Irish and  Northern Irish pubs? Well in the North Irish smoking is still permitted. By the way have you counted the beers? Because the stairs are uncharacteristically steep. I don´t know why? But before I can muse about I have fell to sleep..

Take me home country roads.....

Irland
Giants Causeway

km: 177
Hotel: The Fullerton Arms ***.

final stop - stone age....

Knowth

Antrim Coast

01.09.2006 Antrim Coast
Zurück zum Wagen und jetzt entlang an der Küste. Immer mal wieder eine Aussichtspunkt. Nach Ballinvoy geht es dann auf eine schmale Seitenstrasse, die nach Fair Head, Mulough Bay und Torr Head führt.
Die Strasse führt direkt an Höfen und Weiden vorbei. Schafe überall und irgendwann dann auch auf der Strasse. Die Viecher sind irgendwo ausgebrochen und blockieren die Strasse. Dummes Schaf fällt mir spontan ein, als die auf Hupen nur mit wildem hin und hergerenne reagieren. Hat jemand schonmal Schafe galoppieren sehnen? Ein Anblick zum Brüllen. Leider haben wir die Abfahrt nach Mulough Bay verpasst und so geht die Schafsnummer nochmal vor vorne los.....

Schafe queren die Strasse
Mulough Bay

Nach Murlough Bay führt eine ebenso enge Strasse und kein Haus säumt den Weg. Erst gegen Ende gibt es scheinbar noch eine Behausung. Die Bay selber gilt als die weicheste Bay an der Antrim Coast und so wirkt es auch, schön und sanft und die leichten Wellen im Licht der tiefstehenden Sonne. Da zerfliesst sogar die Strasse. Bevor wir dahinschmelzen fahren wir lieber weiter, das heisst zurück und wieder an den Mähh´s vorbei. .

 

Die Strasse windet sich und führt mal an endlosen Fuchsienhecken vorbei, mal bietet sich ein atemberaubender Blick auf Wiesen und das Meer und irgendwann läuft dann auch noch ein Rindvieh auf der Strasse herum.... Sachen gibt’s

 

Anrtim Landschaft
Fuschsienhecke Antrim Coast

Irgendwann sind wir dann in Cushendun und fahren durch den Ballypatrick Forest zurück nach Ballintoy wo wir heute im Fullerton Arms Quartier haben. Bally heisst übrigens Dorf....
Das Fullerton Arms ist ein B&B mit hauseigenem Pub und das einzige in Ballintoy. Daher ist die Frage wo wir Abendessen auch schnell beantwortet. Also sitzen wir ein und essen nochmal echt Irish, also 7 oz Steak mit Kartoffeln. Und es gibt wieder das gute Bulmers und das gute Guiness. Eins zum Essen.

Danach ist Karaoke Party in dem Laden angesagt und eine Horde Jugendlicher stürmt den Pub. Die sind alle ganz heiss drauf Ihre Liedchen zu singen. Die Jungs werfen sich in den Stimmbruch, die Girlies sind total happy. Da geht noch ein Carling.Ein paar der Mädels und Ihre Betreuerin setzen sich zu uns an den Tisch. Mit zunehmendem Abend (noch ein Carling) kommen wir ins Gespräch und ich erfahre dass es sich um zwei Theater- Gruppen handelt, eine aus Spanien, eine aus Nordirland (ein Guiness).

wildes Rind auf der Strasse - Antrim
schöne Buchten - Antrim

Die Betreuerin (der Spanier) ist Französin aus der Nähe von Biarritz und erzählt ein bisschen von sich. Sie heisst Peregrine Canto (oder so ähnlich) und hat Theater und Pädagogik studiert (ein Carling). Die Gesänge gehen weiter und die Mädels am Tisch erzählen von ihrem Dorf (300 Kilometer nördlich von Barcelona) und ihrem Theaterstück, etwas über Diskriminierung (ein Harp). Die Musik ist mittlerweile zu den Klassikern gekommen. Green Grass of home, Danny Boy, Take me home country roads sind so die letzen Titel (den letzten singt der Wirt persönlich) bevor die Sperrstunde beginnt (ein Carling).

Pint of Kilkenny

By the way was ist der Unterschied zwischen irischen und nordirischen Pubs? In den Nordirischen wird noch geraucht! Komisch die Treppen sind jetzt recht steil, verstehe ich nicht. Aber bevor ich darüber nachdenken kann falle ich in tiefen Schlaf.

Take me home country roads.....

Irland
Giants Causeway

km: 177
Hotel: The Fullerton Arms ***.

letzter Halt - Steinzeit....

Knowth