Clonmacnoise
Rundturm in Clonmacnoise

31.08.2006 Monastery, Crosses and Terrorists
Bye bye Galway and bye Irish west coast. It was nice, we liked it but with this weather we can´t stay. Actually our time here is over anyway. Today we drive to Irelands middle. There near to Athlone is the river Shannon and on the riverside the famous monastery of Clonmacnoise.

Clonmacnoise sign
Cross of Scriptures
Altar in Clonmacnoise

Clonmacnoise (Irish Cluain Mhic Nóise, „Meadow of the sons of Nóise“; is a unique monastery ruin in Ireland in County Offaly at the river Shannon. Its history ranges back to the 6th century after Christ. Today the location is one of the most visited tourist attractions of the green Isle. The former monastery is situated only a few kilometers to the south of Athlone, close to the geographical center of Ireland

Cross of Scriptures Clonmacnoise

The monastery itself was founded by St. Ciaran, another of all these famous Irish Saints. It became fast one of the spiritual centers.
Unfortunately the monastery is located directly at the riverside and the river was also used by raiding Vikings, which had an occasional stop by for a summer sale. Much to the bad luck of the monks. However therefore Clonmacnoise has two instead of one round tower. But what does such a tower help if you see the enemy coming but are still helpless? Today rest houseboats at the marina and some other boats cruise slowly along the loops that the river here makes.

The monastery is further famous for its high crosses with more than 1000 years of age. The best known is the cross of scriptures, basically a spiritual picture book.

the South Cross der zweite Rundturm Clonmacnoise

Cross of the Scriptures
The inscripts, today barely readable, provide the idea that this cross was dedicated to the High king Flann (877-915 n.Chr.) The about 4 m high cross is chiseled from sandstone and probably made in the 10th century. The biblical figures show the treason of Judas, the capture of Jesus and the  custody of Jesus´grave. But there are also profane embodiments like the help of King Diarmuid at the erection of a church or knights, chariots, hunters and animals.

Schleife des Shannon

Not bad, but somehow very time consuming. However, now quickly back on the main road, we have some way to go. Cross country or motor way is the question at Kinnegad. No more experiments we take the farther but safer way on the motor way. Short of Dublin to the North to Dundalk, then the motor way ends. What we see here is a shortsighted piece of Nationalism. Even though Dublin and Belfast are by far the largest cities in Ireland, the narrow minded British government did formerly not find it necessary to built a connection to the South to the misliked Irishman. Only today they have started to close the gap. Anyway its one lane for the time being and tenacious. There is no visible border anymore, but somehow one shall change money know is written on some signs.

hausboote Shannon
Ruinen von Clonmacnoise Castle

Schengen on one the British pound on the other are responsible for these phenomena. How do you recognize that you are in the United Kingdom? Yes its miles instead of km. Spleeny Albion. Otherwise all roads are controlled by cameras and the Union Jack flies everywhere. Barely believable that 10 years ago there was kind of a civil war and everywhere people were threatened by IRA assaults. Today only some posters remember the heroes (catholic reading) or terrorists (Protestant reading) from back then.

Hopefully the old bullish heads will come together soon. From Newry its 2 lanes again and we roll towards Belfast. And pass by, because our hotel is close to the airport, which is quite outside. The hotel with the charm of the sixties is named Chimney corner and rather fair beside the bathroom. But we have no pounds with us (beside the pounds on the ribs). Fortunately the hotel accepts credit cards and books the amount to the room bill.

ein Hausboot auf dem Shannon

 And the prices are OK. I have Steak and potatoes for diner and Nicole has some fish also very delicious. To drink, Guinness of course, even if its North Ireland and Nicole? No, no Bulmers, its not served here. A scandal isn´t it? Not really because its marketed here under the brand Magners. Everything else is identical. Funny but true..Magners
Bulmers
On the room we add another healthy Guinness. Then its enough for today. God save the Queen (or how do they say good night here?
km
408
Hotel: The Chimney Corner **

Irland
Connemara

now we drink Whisky....

Bushmills

Clonmacnoise
Rundturm in Clonmacnoise

31.08.2006 Kloster Kreuze und Terroristen
So Adieu Galway und adieu irische Westküste. Hat uns gefallen, aber bei dem Wetter können wir natürlich nicht bleiben. Tatsächlich ist aber auch unsere Zeit hier um. Jetzt fahren wir in die Mitte Irlands. Dort liegt, in der Nähe von Athlone der River Shannon, aber der ist auch woanders. Aber am Fluss liegt hier das berühmte Kloster Clonmacnoise.

Clonmacnoise sign
Cross of Scriptures
Altar in Clonmacnoise

Clonmacnoise (irish Cluain Mhic Nóise, „Wiese der Söhne des Nóise“; ist eine einzigartige Klosterruine Irlands im County Offaly am Fluss Shannon gelegen. Ihre Geschichte reicht zurück ins 6. Jahrhundert n.Chr. Heute ist die Anlage eine der am meisten besuchten touristischen Attraktionen der grünen Insel. Die ehemalige Klosteranlage liegt nur wenige Kilometer südlich der nahe dem Inselmittelpunkt liegenden Stadt Athlone

Cross of Scriptures Clonmacnoise

Das Kloster selbst wurde von St. Ciaran, einem weiteren dieser vielen irischen Heiligen gegründet und wurde schnell zum geistigen Zentrum.
Leider liegt das Kloster direkt am Fluss und den benutzten auch die Wikinger, die auf der Suche nach einem Summer Sale immer mal wieder vorbeischauten. Sehr zum Unglück der Mönche. Aber immerhin hat Clonmacnoise daher gleich 2 Rundtürme aufzubieten. Was so ein Turm allerdings hilft, wenn man den Feind kommen sieht, aber nichts machen kann? Heute lagern am Anlegesteg legale Wasserwanderer mit Ihren Hausbooten und so manches Boot tuckert auch gemütlich um die Biegungen die der Shannon hier macht

Bekannt ist das Kloster auch für seine über 1000 Jahre alten Hochkreuze. Das bekannteste davon ist das Cross od Scriptures, dem Grunde nach ein kirchliches Bilderbuch

the South Cross der zweite Rundturm Clonmacnoise

Cross of the Scriptures
Die Inschriften, die heute kaum mehr zu entziffern sind, lassen darauf schließen, dass dieses Kreuz dem Hochkönig Flann (877-915 n.Chr.) geweiht war. Das etwa 4 Meter hohe Kreuz ist aus Sandstein gemeißelt und entstand wahrscheinlich im 10. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Die biblischen Darstellungen zeigen den Verrat des Judas, die Gefangennahme und die Bewachung des Grabes Christi. Es gibt aber auch sehr weltliche Darstellungen wie die Hilfe des Königs Diarmuid beim Errichten einer Kirche oder Reiter, Streitwagen, Jäger und Tiere.

Schleife des Shannon

Nicht schlecht, aber irgendwie aufwändig zu machen oder? Wie dem auch sei, jetzt schnell zurück auf die Hauptstrasse, wir müssen noch ein Stück. Querfeldein oder über die Autobahn lautet die Frage dann in Kinnegad. Keine Experimente mehr. Lieber den weiteren Weg aber den sicheren. Also kurz an Dublin vorbei, nach Norden, bis Dundalk und dann ist aus mit guter Autobahn. Was wir hier sehen ist wieder mal  so ein kurzgeistiges Stück Nationalismus. Obwohl Dublin und Belfast mit Abstand die grössten Städte der Insel sind, haben die bornierten Briten es früher nicht für nötig gehalten eine Autobahn nach Süden zu den verhassten Iren zu bauen. Erst heute hat man sich daran gemacht. BAW ist es aber noch einspurig und unheimlich zäh. Grenze gib es keine sichtbare mehr, aber irgendwie soll man jetzt Geld wechseln steht auf den Schildern.

hausboote Shannon
Ruinen von Clonmacnoise Castle

Schengen auf der einen, das britische Pfund auf der anderen Seite sind für diese Phänomene verantwortlich. Woran merkt man noch, dass man im United Kingdom ist? Ja alles Meilen statt Kilometer. Spleenig Albion. Ausserdem werden alle Strassen überwacht mit Kameras und der Union Jack flattert auch des Öfteren. Kaum zu glauben, dass vor 10 Jahren hier noch eine Art Bürgerkrieg herrschte und man nirgendwo vor Anschlägen der IRA sicher war. Heute erinnern nur noch ein paar Plakate an die Helden (katholische Lesart) oder Terroristen (protestantische Lesart) von dereinst.

Mal hoffen, dass die alten Sturköpfe sich bald einigen. Ab Newry sinds dann wieder 2 Spuren und wir rollen Richtung Belfast. Und gleich daran vorbei, denn unser Hotel liegt in der Nähe des Flughafens. Und der liegt wirklich weit ausserhalb. Das Hotel mit dem Charm der 60 heisst Kaminecke ist aber von den Badarmaturen abgesehen ganz ordentlich. Hmm, aber wir haben keine Pfunde (ausser denen zuviel auf den Rippen). Zu unserer Freude nimmt das hauseigene Restaurant Karte bzw. bucht die Essensrechnung aufs Zimmer.

ein Hausboot auf dem Shannon

Und die Preise sind OK.  Zum Essen gibt’s ein Steak mit Kartoffeln, sehr lecker. Nicole hat Fisch, auch sehr gut. Und dazu, klar auch Nordirland hat Guinness und für Nicole gibt’s? Nein, kein Bulmers. Das gibt’s hier gar nicht! Ein Skandal oder? Nicht wirklich, wird nur unter dem Namen Magners vermarktet. Alles andere ist identisch. Witzig aber wahr.Magners
Bulmers
Auf dem Zimmer schütten wir noch ein gesundes Guinnes nach. Dann reichts aber auch für heute. God save the Queen (oder wie sagt man hier gute Nacht?)
KM: 408
Hotel: The Chimney Corner **

Irland
Connemara

jetzt gehen wir Whisky trinken....

Bushmills