Galway

28.-30.08. Galway
In Galway we have a room reservation too, in the Travellodge. But Galway is larger city and has a lot of roundabouts but without signs. At least none that help us. East- or West? West it shall be, either its by chance or by intuition we drive direct along the hotel. Therefore a circle at the roundabout we we are actually there. Its a new house and nice room but unfortunately without restaurant. So its going out once again. To the center its 15 minutes by foot all along the main road..

Hauptstrasse in Galway
Town center - Pubs Art Display in Galway Pubs in Galway

The description turns out to be very accurate. The city center however it not so inviting. A lot of restaurants but crawling with tourists. And the prices are not inviting either. In short, we don’t find something reasonable. Therefore we prefer to buy groceries in a Tesco supermarket (open 24h) and have a room party. Soup and yummy salad with chicken breast, much better that what he have casually seen in these restaurants in the city. What is for drinks? The usual, however today out of the can. Tastes anyway an so ends the day.....

Km: 295
Hotel Travelodge Galway ***

Galway Fussgängerzone
The Kings Head - Galway
Irland
Burren

The city is located on the West coast of Ireland at the Northern end of the Galway Bay. The by the tides strongly affected river Corrib crosses through the city and meanders in the Bay.
With a population of 71.983 (2006) Galway is the most populated city of the county Galway and the whole west of Ireland. The city undergoes as seat of a university a huge growth in population, making her the most youthful city of Ireland as well as a strong increase in economic and cultural importance. She is beside Dublin the most important city of Ireland in this respect.

well now fast to the Island

Aran Islands

Galway

28.-30.08. Galway
Auch in Galway haben wir ein Zimmer vorreserviert, in der Travellodge. Aber  Galway ist eine grössere Stadt und hat viele Kreisverkehre aber keine Schilder. Jedenfalls keine die uns helfen. Ost- oder West? Ok, West soll es sein, der Zufall oder die Intuition hilft, wir fahren direkt am Hotel – vorbei, also eine Runde im Kreisverkehr und wir sind tatsächlich da. Auch das ein neues Haus und ein schönes Zimmer, leider ohne Restaurant. Also müssen wir nochmal los. In die Stadt sind es 15 Minuten zu Fuss und immer der Hauptstrase lang.

Hauptstrasse in Galway
Town center - Pubs Art Display in Galway Pubs in Galway

Die Beschreibung erweist sich als akkurat. Die Innenstadt ist hingegen nicht so einladend. Viele Restaurants, aber sehr überlaufen und die Preise sind auch nicht grade so einladend. Kurzum, wir finden nichts vernünftiges. Also kaufen wir lieber ein paar Lebensmittel im Tesco-Supermarkt (der 24 h offen hat!) und machen eine Zimmerparty. Süppchen und ein lecker Salat mit Hühnerbrust, deutlich besser als das was wir in diesen Läden in der Stadt so gesehen haben. Was gibt’s dazu? Das übliche, heute halt aus der Dose. Schmeckt und sättigt und so endet auch dieser Tag.....

Km: 295
Hotel Travelodge Galway ***

Galway Fussgängerzone
The Kings Head - Galway
Irland
Burren

Die Stadt liegt an der Westküste Irlands am nordöstlichen Ufer der Galway Bay. Der stark dem Tidenhub ausgesetzte Fluss Corrib durchfließt die Stadt und mündet in die Bucht.
Mit 71.983 Einwohnern (Stand 2006) ist Galway die bevölkerungsreichste Stadt des County Galway und des gesamten Westen Irlands. Die Stadt erlebt als Sitz einer Universität in den letzten 20 Jahren sowohl ein starkes Bevölkerungswachstum, was sie zur „jugendlichsten“ Stadt Irlands macht, als auch einen starken Zuwachs an wirtschaftlicher und kultureller Bedeutung. Sie ist neben Dublin in dieser Hinsicht die bedeutendste Stadt Irlands.

so jetzt aber nichts wie weg auf die Insel

Aran Islands