Rock of Cashel & Kilkenny

24.08. Rock of Cashel – Kilkenny
Well today we leave Dublin to give the infamous Irish roads a look. Left left left do I say even at breakfast Traffic is moderate  (everybody is directed to the city) and the roads unexpectedly good. This remains unchanged as long as the motor way leads. After that a country road follows. One has to know that the proper direction is Clonmel, the Rock of Cashel itself it not yet mentioned on the road signs. But soon after only a few km the Rock appears. Visible even from a long distance the former castle is enthroned on the hill. Beneath lies Chapel a small village with little parking place. After a short turn we find the parking lot below the rock. The way up is only possible by foot. Entrance is with 6.50 EUR moderate and includes a tour in English language.
http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/HistoricSites/South/RockofCashelTipperary/

Rock of Cashel Der Fels von Cashel

The Rock of Cashel is one of the most intriguing sightseeing places in Ireland. The rock 60 m high dominates with its medieval castle church and monastery on top a huge plain. Cashel was from the 4th century on seat of the Kings of Munster and was transferred to the Church in 1101 AD. Already in the 5th century Saint Patrick elevated the rock to a bishops see. The famous king Brian Boru was crowned here and named Cashel 977 AD as his residence. In the 12th century Cormac's Chapel was erected one of the most beautiful Churches on the Isle in roman stile. Further there is a large gothic cathedral of the 13th century located in the ruins as well as a St. Patrick's Cross (11. century), whose original is on display in the museum and a 30m high round tower. The view in the valley shows the ruins of Hore Abbey.

Nicole vor den Ruinen von Cashel
Der Rundturm
St Patricks Cross
Cormacs Chapel mit Turm
Peter vor der Festungsmauer

Our tour is lead by an anorexic and edgy Irish girl which we quickly name Mrs. Allright. Why? Lets listen:
Ladies and Gentlemen, Cashel used to be the seat of the High Kings of Ireland until the late 11th century, all right. Also the famous Brian Boru, High king of Ireland was crowned and held court here from 1005 on, all right. All descendants of him and his family are named O Brian, all right. He is always brought in connection with the Harp, a special Harp is even named after him and has become a national symbol of Ireland, all right!

Mrs Allright zeigt uns die Anlage
Cormacs Chapel

This is continuously going on and in a speed that the ears ring. Anyway, the program is interesting because the grounds and buildings are full of history. Not for nothing is this the rock of the rocks. Alone the location has its advantage. We visit the Chapel, the cathedral and the round tower (from the exterior only) and after some 100 pictures (e.g. of the valley and some certain tourists) we descend the holy rock which shall have been visited by St. Patrick himself.

Ire und moderne Kunst
Spange aus dem 15.Jh
Grandma´s Coffeshop Blumen

After some pictures at the parking lot of an Irish boy and a little cafe, we drive off and begin our search for Kilkenny,

Search? Yes, because roads and ways in Ireland are somehow difficult. And so are the road signs. Usually there is supposed to be a left turn in Clonmel, indeed there is, but the road is going on and winding and it takes already too much time. But where to go if there are no alternatives? So we drive on and on the road along and Tata! Suddenly we are in Waterford. Well here it shall give nice crystal, but actually we didn´t want to come here. Luckily from here there is a foolproof road to Kilkenny so the we finally find the village.

Kilkenny Downtown

But the problems continue. Our hotel is somewhere at the outer rims, but where? The description is unusable because there are more than one roads out of town. Finally at a gas station does somebody think to know where the hotel is. Correct. At the described road lies the Hotel. New. SO new that there currently runs a emergency training. But this is only a short delay and we get a very new and clean room.

Der Fluss in Kilkenny

The city of Kilkenny (Irish Cill Chainnigh, meaning: church of Canisius)  is located in the southeast of the R. of Ireland at s´the shores of the River Nore. It is the county seat of the identically named county. With her 8.625 inhabitants (as of 2006) respectively with surroundings about 22.000 people, Kilkenny is Irelands smallest city.

By the way, two Irish are committing, no not suicide, but marriage. I wonder if the photos turn out well, I for myself would not have made them against the sun, the hired photographer does?

Kilkenny Cathedral
Kilkenny Castke

Ok, later more details regarding the room, we still want to sightsee something. We go to the city by foot which is life threatening at the beginning, because there are no walkways at the roadside. But the situation improves soon and we get to the town center of the village (13.000 inhabitants). First visual highlight is the castle. Former seat of the Lords of Butler its a well maintained country castle (and also in the inside there shall be nice furniture) with a fantastic park on the grounds. Further you get a view on the riverside In the background is the shilouette of a brewery. Self declaring in city with this name, isn´t it?

Ein Brautpaar im Schlosshof

We go downhill to the river, which runs pictorially through the town. At the main road there are many pubs but before we take a closer look, wed first like to visit the cathedral. Just in Time, because at 5 they close and now its a quarter to 5. More interesting in our opinion is the round tower. A church’s interior, if you know one you know (almost) all. Ok the tower entree is charged with 2 EUR. And for this you have to climb. Steepest steps up. Its a torture for the need and at the tops the way gets further really tight.

At the top there is a slight breeze and we get an awesome view across the city. But the tower seems to be shaky and rickety. But so be it, he will endure us and after us they close, but only for today.......

The most impressive church however is St. Canice's Cathedral. It is the second largest cathedral of Irelands. The early Gothic cathedral was erected between 1202 and 1285 and adepted under bishop Geoffrey St. Ledger . In the year 1332 the bell tower collapsed and had to be reerected. The plans to increase the size of the crossing tower were canceled however. The round tower beside the cathedral originates in the year 849. The choir dates to the year 1901 and is a copy of the choir in the cathedral of Brugge. Whilst the reformation the cathedral was raided a couple of times. Around 1650 the troops of Cromwell sacked the cathedral and used it as a stable.

Nicole im engen Rundturm
Peter über den Dächern von Kilkenny
victorianische Türen

After so much art and culture we have to care for our bodily welfare. Therefore we go into a real pub for refreshments. This is best done with a Guinness (in Kilkenny!) and a tasty burger. The first Guinness follows a second whereas Nicole gulps two Bulmers. Our way back is therefore lively, but also because we use a Taxi. In the hotel we grant ourselves a last beer and then Good Nite.
Km 215
Hotel Days Inn, Kilkenny ***

im Pub in Kilkenny
Prost mit Guinness
Kneipen in Kilkenny

on to the sea...

Irland
Garinish Island
Dublin2

Rock of Cashel & Kilkenny

24.08. Rock of Cashel – Kilkenny
So heute verlassen wir Dublin um die berüchtigte irischen Strassen mal anzuschauen. Links Links Links sage ich mir schon beim Frühstück. Der Verkehr ist moderat (alle wollen in die Stadt) und die Strassen unerwartet gut. Das bleibt auch so, so weit wie die Autobahn reicht. Danach folgt eine Landstrasse. Wissen muss man dass man Richtung Clonmel muss, der Rock of Cashel selbst steht erstmal nicht da. Taucht aber alsbald auf, wenn man ein paar Kilometer durch die Landschaft gefahren ist. Weithin sichtbar thront die Burg auf dem Felsen. Unterhalb liegt Cashel ein kleiner Ort mit wenig Parkplätzen. Nach einer kurzen Wende finden wir den Parkplatz zum Felsen. Hoch geht’s nur zu Fuss, der Eintritt ist mit 6.50 Euro moderat und beinhaltet eine englischsprachige Tour.
http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/HistoricSites/South/RockofCashelTipperary/

Rock of Cashel Der Fels von Cashel

Der Rock of Cashel ist eine der interessantesten Sehenswürdigkeiten Irlands. Der 60 Meter hohe Felsblock überragt, gekrönt von einer mauerumringten mittelalterlichen Burganlage mit Kirche und Kloster, eine weite Ebene. Cashel war vom 4. Jahrhundert an Sitz der Könige von Munster und ging 1101 in kirchlichen Besitz über. Schon im 5. Jahrhundert erhob der heilige Patrick Cashel zum Bischofssitz. Derberühmte König Brian Boru wurde hier gekrönt und erkor 977 Cashel zu seinem Hauptsitz. Im 12. Jahrhundert entstand mit Cormac's Chapel eine der schönsten Kirchen der Insel im romanischen Stil. Im Ruinenkomplex auf dem Felsen stehen außerdem eine große gotische Kathedrale aus dem 13. Jahrhundert, das St. Patrick's Cross (11. Jahrhdt.), dessen Original im Museum gezeigt wird, und ein knapp 30 Meter hoher Rundturm. Im Tal hat man Blick auf die Ruinen von Hore Abbey.

Nicole vor den Ruinen von Cashel
Der Rundturm
St Patricks Cross
Cormacs Chapel mit Turm
Peter vor der Festungsmauer

Unsere Tour führt eine magersüchtige und etwas hipfelige Irin, die wir schnell Mrs. Allright taufen. Warum? Dann hören wir mal rein:
Ladies and Gentlemen, Cashel used to be the seat of the High Kings of Ireland until the late 11th century, all right. Also the famous Brian Boru, Highking of Ireland was crowned and held court here from 1005 on, all right. All descendants of him and his family are named O Brien, all right. He is always brought in connection with the Harp, a special Harp is even named after him and has become a national symbol of Ireland, all right!

Mrs Allright zeigt uns die Anlage
Cormacs Chapel

So geht das weiter und in einem Tempo dass einem die Ohren klingeln. Trotzdem ist das Programm interessant und die Gebäude und der Grund bieten jede Menge Geschichte. Nicht umsonst ist das der Felsen der Felsen. Und auch die Lage hat etwas für sich. Wir nehmen noch die Kapelle, die Kathedrale und den Rundturm (von aussen) in Augenschein und nach noch einigen hundert Fotos (u.a. auch ins Tal und von gewissen Touris steigen wir den heiligen Felsen, den auch St. Patrick persönlich besucht haben soll wieder hinab.

Ire und moderne Kunst
Spange aus dem 15.Jh
Grandma´s Coffeshop Blumen

Nachdem wir am Parkplatz noch einen echten Iren (rote Haare) und ein niedliches Cafe fotografiert haben, setzen wir unsere Fahrt fort und beginnen die Suche nach Kilkenny.

Suche? Ja. Denn Strassen und Wege in Irland sind etwas eigen. Und die Strassenschilder nicht weniger. Normalerweise müsste es bei Clonmel mal links ab gehen, das tut es auch, aber irgendwie wird der Weg lang und einsam und dauert schon viel zu lang. Aber wohin wenn einem die Alternativen fehlen. So geht es also noch weiter die Strasse entlang und tata! Plötzlich sind wir in Waterford. Klasse. Zwar soll es hier schönes Kristall geben, aber wir wollten doch gar nicht hierher. Zu unserem Glück führt von hier eine recht narrensichere Strasse nach Kilkenny, so dass wir den Ort tatsächlich auch finden. .

Kilkenny Downtown

Dort geht die Maläise aber direkt weiter. Unser Hotel liegt ausserhalb, nur wo. Die Beschreibung ist untauglich weil es diverse Ausfallstrassen gibt. Endlich an einer Tankstelle meint einer den Lageort zu kennen. Stimmt. An einer Ausfallstrasse liegt das Days Hotel. Brandneu. Brand deshalb weil grade eine Feuerübung läuft. Neu weil das Haus von 2 Monaten in Betrieb ging. Schön. Ensprechend sauber und ordentlich sind die Zimmer

Der Fluss in Kilkenny
Kilkenny Castke

Gut Zimmer kommt später, wir wollen ja noch was sehen. In die Stadt gehen wir zu Fuss, was allerdings am Anfang mit Lebesgefahr verbunden ist, weil es keine Gehwege gibt. Aber das bessert sich irgednwann und wir kommen ins Zentrum des Städtchens (13.000 Einwohner). Erstes optischen Highlight ist das Schloss. Früher Sitz der Herren von Butler ist es ein sehr schön erhaltenes Landschloss (uns soll Innen auch nette Möbel haben) mit herrlichem Park drumherum und einem schönen Blick über den Fluss. Weiter hinten sieht man auch Umrissen einer Brauerei. In einer Stadt diesen Namens selbsterklärend oder?

Die Stadt Kilkenny (irisch Cill Chainnigh, bedeutet: Kirche des Canisius) befindet sich im Südosten der Republik Irland an den Ufern des River Nore. Sie ist der Verwaltungssitz des gleichnamigen Countys. Mit ihren 8.625 Einwohnern (Stand 2006) bzw. im unmittelbaren Umland der Stadt etwa 22.000 Einwohnern ist Kilkenny die kleinste Stadt Irlands.

Nebenbei geben sich noch zwei Ir(r)en das Jawort. Ob die Fotos was werden muss man sehen, ich hätte die nicht gegen die Sonne gemacht.

Kilkenny Cathedral
Ein Brautpaar im Schlosshof

Wir gehen weiter den Hügel hinab zum Fluss, der den Ort malerisch durchschneidet. An der Hauptstrasse gibt es jede Menge Kneipen, aber bevor wir das näher untersuchen, wollen wir erst der Kathedrale noch einen Besuch abstatten. Just in Time, denn um 5 schliesst der Bau und jetzt ist es ¼ vor. Für uns interessant ist der Rundturm, Kirchen von innen, kennt man eine kennt man (fast) alle. Also der Turm, macht 2 Euro. Und dafür muss man dann klettern. Steilste Treppen hinauf. Das ist Tortur für die Knie, und am Ende wird’s auch noch richtig eng

Oben weht eine leichte Brise und man hat einen grosszügigen Blick über die Stadt, aber der Turm wirkt doch recht wackelig und klapprig. Seis drum uns wird er noch aushalten und direkt nach uns wird zugesperrt, aber nur für heute........

Die beeindruckendste Kirche ist jedoch St. Canice's Cathedral. Sie ist die zweitgrößte Kathedrale Irlands. Die frühgotische Kathedrale wurde zwischen 1202 und 1285 errichtet und unter Bischof Geoffrey St. Ledger eingeweiht. Im Jahre 1332 fiel der Glockenturm in sich zusammen und musste neu aufgebaut werden. Die Pläne, den Vierungsturm größer zu gestalten wurden dabei allerdings verworfen. Der neben der Kathedrale gelegene Rundturm stammt aus dem Jahre 849. Das Chorgestühl von St. Canice stammt aus dem Jahre 1901 und ist eine Kopie des Chorgestühls in der Kathedrale von Brügge. Während der Reformation wurde die Kathedrale mehrmals geplündert. Um 1650 wurde sie von den Truppen Cromwells geplündert und als Stall benutzt.

Nicole im engen Rundturm
Peter über den Dächern von Kilkenny
victorianische Türen

Nach so viel Kunst und Kultur muss dem leiblichen Wohl genüge getan werden. Dazu gehen wir in einen echten Pub um uns zu stärken. Das tut am Besten mit einem Guinness (in Kilkenny!) und einem leckeren Burger. Dem Guinness folgt noch ein zweites während Nicole sich zwei Bulmers einspült. Der Rückweg fällt dementsprechend beschwingt aus, nicht zu letzt deshalb weil wir uns ein Taxi gönnen. Im Hotel noch ein letztes Bier und dann Gute Nacht.
Km 215
Hotel Days Inn, Kilkenny ***

im Pub in Kilkenny
Prost mit Guinness
Kneipen in Kilkenny

weiter ans Meer...

Irland
Garinish Island
Dublin2